Utah and Provo Orem Crimes have three categories: felonies, misdemeanors and infractions.
A felony is a serious criminal allegation which can carry, probation, jail, prison and parole. There are four types of Utah felonies.
|Degree of Offense||Permissible Prison Term||Possible Fine|
|Capital Felony||Life in prison, life in prison without possibility of parole, or the death penalty.|
|First Degree||Five years prison to life in prison.||Up to $10,000|
|Second Degree||One to 15 years in prison||Up to $10,000|
|Third Degree||Zero to five years in prison||Up to $5,000|
A Misdemeanor is an offense lower than a Felony. You can’t go to prison for a Utah Misdemeanor and the most incarceration you can get is one year in the county jail. Many Utah cities and counties have their set of ordinances allowing them to charge Misdemeanors under City and County ordinances.
There are three Utah Misdemeanors classifications.
|Class||Possible Jail Term||Possible Fine|
|Class “A”||Up to 1 year in jail||Up to $2,500|
|Class “B”||Up to 6 months in jail||Up to $1,000|
|Class C||Up to 90 days in jail||Up to $750|
An Infraction is a minor offense punishable by a fine only, up to $750. You cannot go to jail or prison unless you are found in contempt of the court’s orders. The underlying Infraction conviction does not carry any incarceration possibilities.
Common Provo Orem Infractions are traffic offenses, disorderly conduct, and careless driving. Most any offense charged as a Misdemeanor can be reduced to an Infraction through the plea bargain process, or by 402 Reduction Motions.
The maximum fine bail schedule is stated above, but most of the time the courts use the recommended fine bail schedule when determining the actual fine assessed against the criminal defendant at sentencing
Just Google “2023 Uniform Bail Fine Schedule”2023 Utah Bail Fine Schedule and the newest version will populate your search findings for download.
For Example: Assume you have pled guilty to a Provo Paraphernalia Possession offense, first offense, which is a Class B Misdemeanor. The maximum fine for paraphernalia possession under the classification charges is $1,000. After reviewing the 2018 Fine Bail Schedule, the recommended fine for a first offense Provo drug paraphernalia possession conviction is $683.
The Provo Justice Court Judge could have given the maximum fine associated with the first time offense of drug paraphernalia possession of $1,000, but instead used the uniform bail schedule to order $683 fine.