Not the county seat, yet Orem has 98,129 people and growing. The Orem City Justice Court reports 1,010 court filings in 2021. Orem City only has one, non-law trained judge, Judge Reed Parkin, appointed in June of 2010 and first appointed int 2005.
Orem City is home to Utah Valley University and just off exits at University Parkway, Center Street, 800 and 1600 North on Interstate 15.
I-15 brings a lot of out-of-state visitors to Utah for the ski season, especially at Sundance Resort just off the 800 North exit. If you are stopped for
Reckless Driving, call Attorney Jake Gunter. Often you can avoid court completely and pay a fine and close the matter. He strives to avoid court completely for out-of-state residents.
See this article on how to deal with charges when you live out-of-state. https://provocriminaldefense.com/out-of-state-charges/
Tickets are common I-15 or in town. Calling a Orem City Reckless Driving attorney Jake Gunter can really help you. Normally a flat legal fee is charged to resolve the matter short of a jury trial. If you want your case to go to a jury trial, that is a an additional fee. You control whether your case goes to a jury.
The cost of a Reckless Driving Misdemeanor “B” conviction on your record is generally well worth the flat attorney fee to avoid it. Reckless Driving Class B Misdemeanors can’t be expunged for 4 years unless you run a reduction motion to push the conviction to a Class C Misdemeanor, which is a 3 year waiting period to expunge.
Normally Orem Reckless Driving attorney Jake Gunter can obtain a plea offer that you can live with. It clearly gets more expensive if you have to conduct a jury trial to beat the charge.
(1). Reckless Driving is charged as Class B Misdemeanor. (Not automatically expunged. 4 year waiting period)
(2). 6 to 12 months information court probation. Non-reporting probation.
(3). Up to 180 days jail max. Normally all jail is suspended.
(4). Recommended bail schedule fine of $690, bail schedule. Oftentimes reduced even lower.
(5). Insurance rates go up.
(6). 80 points assigned to any Reckless Driving conviction. See info on Utah’s points system here: https://provocriminaldefense.com/utah-traffic-ticket-defense/
(7). 4 years waiting period to expunge. See this article on expungements HERE: https://provocriminaldefense.com/2018/10/03/probation-violations-orders-to-show-cause-reductions-and-expungements-what-to-do/
The Orem City Justice Court is located at:
Orem City Justice Court
97 E Center Street
Orem, Utah 84057
Phone: (801) 724-3900
Judge Parkin’s official biography reads:
“Judge Reed S. Parkin serves the Orem City Justice Court. His initial appointment to the bench was in April 2005. He previously served the Bluffdale, Herriman, and Heber justice courts. Judge Parkin earned a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Phoenix in 2004, a Bachelor of Science in Business Management from the University of Phoenix in 1998, and an Associate of Science in Criminal Justice from Salt Lake Community College in 1992. He serves as a member of the Utah Judicial Council and has served on the Board of Justice Court Judges. He is an adjunct professor teaching courses in the school of business and criminal justice programs.” https://www.utcourts.gov/en/about/courts/judges-bios/justice-courts/fourth-district-justice-court/reed-s-parkin.html
The Orem City Justice Court only handles Misdemeanor Bs and below along with a Small Claims Department. Orem City Justice Court does not handle Class A Misdemeanors or above, those charges are filed in the Spanish Fork 4th Judicial District Court.
You can read Utah’s statute on Reckless Driving below.
41-6a-528. Reckless Driving — Penalty.
(1) A person is guilty of Reckless Driving who operates a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
(2) For purposes of this section, “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” includes:
(a) traveling on a highway at a speed of 105 miles per hour or greater; or [ADDED in 2021]
(b) committing three or more traffic violations under Title 41, Chapter 6a, Traffic Code, in a series of acts occurring within a single continuous period of driving covering three miles or less in total distance.
(3) A person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
First time Reckless Driving offenders can, with the right attorney, get these charges reduced to speeding, or enter into a Plea in Abeyance. A deeper, cornerstone article on Pleas in Abeyance can be read here: ‘
Pleas in Abeyance are dismissals after you successfully complete all terms of probation. PIAs don’t count towards the Utah points system and are not convictions. PIAs are a good deal.
Another great way to resolve Reckless Driving tickets is a straight plea to speeding, dropping the matter from a Misdemeanor B to and Infraction.
Prior to 2021 Reckless Driving didn’t have an exact speed that constituted Reckless Driving. Now if you are going over 105 miles per hour, police can give you a Reckless Driving ticket just for going 105 or more.
Reckless Driving is what the jury says it is and a good defense attorney can help let the jury know that that was just a case of speeding—not Reckless Driving.
If you are going even 30 miles over in a school zone or area clearly marked with handicap children, the jury may just murder you. If you are going 30 miles over on I-15 near Millard County, that would not be Reckless Driving. Depends on what the jury says is Reckless Driving.
Currently any speeding over 105 mph is presumed Reckless Driving under the new law in 2021.
Unless you are awful to the police officer (never do that), you are generally not booked at the county jail. For Reckless Driving you normally just receive a citation which lists your actual speed and your charges.
On the middle left hand side of your Reckless Driving citation it reads you must call the court clerk not earlier than 5 days, no later than 14 days to set up a court hearing.
Utah Code 53-3-220 states that two Reckless Driving convictions within a 12 month period will suspend your Utah driver’s license. A Reckless Driving conviction combined with a DUI like conviction with 12 months will also suspend your license.
The code reads:
(viii) two charges of Reckless Driving, impaired driving, or any combination of Reckless Driving and impaired driving committed within a period of 12 months; but if upon a first conviction of Reckless Driving or impaired driving the judge or justice recommends suspension of the convicted person’s license, the division may after a hearing suspend the license for a period of three months; See 53-3-220(1)(a)(viii).
Juveniles Under 21 Years Old. If you are under 21 years old and are convicted of Reckless Driving you will incur 80 points. You only get 70 points on your under 21 year old driving record before the DLD will sanction your license. Any straight plea to reckless or speeding 19+ miles per hour over will sanction your minor driver’s license.
BEWARE if you are under 21 years old with a Reckless Driving charge, you can lose your license.
Traffic School. You can only take traffic school so often, generally only once every 2 years to reduce 50 points off your Utah traffic record.
Hiring an attorney for Orem City traffic court matters can reduce your insurance rates and points.
Utah’s Adult Points System: You only have 200 points on your adult over 21 Utah driving record before you can be sanctioned.
Utah’s Under 21 Points System: You only get 100 points on your Utah driving record before the driver’s license division starts disciplining your driving privileges.
Reckless Driving 80
Speeding (depending on severity) 35 – 75
Failure to Yield Right-of-Way 60
Following too Closely (tailgating) 60
Wrong Side of Road 60
Wrong Way on One-Way Street 60
Red Light 50
Stop Sign 50
Improper Lookout 50
Improper Passing 50
Negligent Collision 50
Other Moving Violations 40
A more detailed look at points, traffic school and driving can be found at the Utah Driver’s License Division administrative rule R708-3.
Utah County Jail
3075 N Main St
Spanish Fork, Utah 84660
Phone: (801) 851-4200
Orem City Justice Court
97 E Center Street
Orem, Utah 84057
Phone: (801) 724-3900
Spanish Fork 4th Judicial District Court
775 W Center Street
Spanish Fork, UT 84660
Phone: (801) 804-4800
Provo 4th Judicial District Court
137 East Freedom Avenue
Provo, Utah 84606
Phone: (801) 429-1000
Utah County Justice Court
151 S University Ave #3300
Provo, UT 84601
Phone: (801) 851-7200
Utah Warrant Search