Provo Criminal Defense Blog
Utah Criminal Law Blog — Page 23
Plain-English answers from Utah criminal defense attorney Jake Gunter about charges, courts, DUI, expungements, and what happens next.

DUI Refusals---Early Reinstateme Possible in Utah Eff 05/2023
If you refused a lawful order for a chemical test (blood draw or breathalyzer) you lost your license for 18 months on the first offense. No early reinstatement was…
Read article
How Long Does a Utah DUI Stay on Your Record?
How long does a Utah DUI conviction stay on your record? Example DUI Orem Center Street: You just got a DUI on Orem Center Street. You lost your license at…
Read article
Common Utah Evidence Burdens
Learn about the different legal burdens in Utah, including reasonable suspicion, probable cause, evidence, and reasonable doubt.
Read article
Early Reinstatement for DUI Arrest and DUI Conviction in Utah—Finaly the Day Has Come for Early License Reinstatement
First DUI section 502 arrest or conviction, a 120 day license suspension. There was a limited opportunity under 53-3-223(10) to get your license back pending the DUI…
Read article
More on Traffic Expungements
Most Utah traffic offenses are eligible for an expungement in Utah. Specifically the Utah Expunge Act defines traffic offenses as: (i) Utah Traffic Code. An infraction, a…
Read article
Can’t Expunge a Felony DUI in Utah
Utah is very liberal with expungements and 402 sentence reductions. Yet you can’t expunge a felony DUI. The Utah Expungement Act states the following types of convictions…
Read article
Herriman City Criminal Defense Attorney
Hiring a jury trial lawyer for your Herriman, UT criminal charges can make the difference. Herriman Attorney Jake Gunter has the experience.
Read article
Carrying a Dangerous Weapon While Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs Unlawful
Learn about Utah laws for carrying a dangerous weapon under the influence, including penalties, exceptions, and expungement options!
Read article
Can You Ever Be Removed from the Utah Sex Offense Registry Early?
See if you are eligible for early removal from Utah's sex offense registry? Read here if you are on a 10 year or lifetime registry.
Read article
Careless Driving
Careless driving is the little sister of reckless driving in Utah. Careless driving is a Class C Misdemeanor rather than a Class B like reckless driving is. Careless…
Read article